2010 CBL Schedule Mention Before Final Changes

In February 2010 the CBL announced its intended 4-team schedule, which was to include two teams operated by the New York State League — a developmental, pay-to-play league which would promote its players from a developmental league to the CBL.  That arrangement fell apart which led to the return of 2009’s Coastal Kingfish to replace the named “West Texas Roadhogs”.  The Desert Valley Mountain Lions were kept in the schedule as a travel team, and operated by the league.

Both Ron Baron and Bob Ibach were quoted in the release, and the release mentions previous league championship teams such as the Tarrant County Blue Thunder, Bay Area Toros, and Alexandria Aces.  Aspirations of expanding the CBL to Arizona and Colorado for what would have been a 2011 season also were mentioned.

Here is a link to that release:


2014 Mention Of CBL On FoxSports.com

In 2014, the Pecos League had a mini-series documentary on Fox Sports 1, so FoxSports.com did a recap of the Pecos League.  In the article below you will see a mention of the CBL and the two teams which started the Pecos League (Big Bend Cowboys – now Alpine Cowboys, and the Las Cruces Vaqueros):



Clips of the 2014 Pecos League documentary are on YouTube when you search for the Pecos League.

2009 CBL Team And League-wide Stats

We found the 2009 CBL team season and league-wide season stats on Baseball Reference.  Here are some takeaways for the 2009 season:

  • 174 games played
  • League batting average of .267
  • 233 home runs that year
  • 1734 RBI that year
  • League ERA of 4.92
  • 2588 strikeouts
  • Fielding percentage of .953
  • 633 stolen bases


Here is the link to the full season (regular and post-season combined) stats, with sub-stats available on the appropriate links listed: