2007 CBL Home Run Derby and All-Star Game

2007 CBL Home Run Derby and All-Star Game

The first CBL Home Run Derby and All-Star Game took place over two days in July, 2007 in League City, Texas.  Both events were at Clear Creek High School, which was the final CBL event there as the Bay Area Toros then moved to Texas City to finish out the season.


Here is the local newspaper’s recap from the 2007 All-Star Game, including quotes from managers Royce Holder, Jim Bolt and Curtis Wilkerson:  http://www.chron.com/neighborhood/article/North-takes-All-Star-game-9556059.php

This was the Houston Chronicle’s article before the All-Star Game, Home Run Derby, and Old Timers Game – discussing the rains which plagued all CBL teams (and other independent league teams) during the 2007 season:  https://www.chron.com/neighborhood/article/All-Stars-hope-for-dry-field-9546665.php

This write up of Noah Scott game from the Archive.org (Wayback Machine) snapshot of the BayAreaToros.com website from November 16, 2007.  It also includes the 2007 CBL home run derby results.  The image of Noah with Ron Baron and Bob Ibach is below in the Images section.

Scott wins Home Run Derby, All-Star Game Today

Noah Scott, the younger brother of Houston Astros’ outfielder Luke Scott, hit 8 homeruns in the first round, then four in the finals to win the CBL Home Run Derby, in the first day of CBL All-Star Game festivities at Clear Creek Wildcat Field. The All-Star Game is Tuesday night at Clear Creek Wildcat Field at 7 PM. Tickets will be available at the gate for just $10.

Home Run Derby Results:
First Round (Top 4 and ties advance to finals):
Estevan Quintana, Tarrant County Blue Thunder, 8
Karl Krailo, Tarrant County Blue Thunder, 8
Noah Scott, Bay Area Toros, 8
Danny Holmes, Bay Area Toros, 7
Ross Elmore, Texas Heat, 6
Justin Meagher, Texas Heat, 6
Jesse Longoria, Lewisville Lizards, 6
Jerrett Sandridge, Bay Area Toros, 6
Joe Pagan, Tarrant County Blue Thunder, 5
Robby Winn, Texas Heat, 5
Mario Spann, Lewisville Lizards, 4
Josh Jennings, Lewisville Lizards, 2

Noah Scott, Bay Area Toros, 4
Karl Krailo, Tarrant County Blue Thunder, 3
Danny Holmes, Bay Area Toros, 1
Estevan Quintana, Tarrant County Blue Thunder, 1

Winner: Noah Scott, Bay Area Toros

From an archive.org snapshot of the old Tarrant County Blue Thunder website (click here), the team had a press release go out about its 11 players selected to represent the Blue Thunder for the first CBL All-Star Game.  Here are those players:

The CBL has announced the Blue Thunder representatives to the league All Star game. In all, the Blue Thunder have 11 players going to Houston for the first CBL All-Star Game.

The players are…
C Joe Pagan
1B Alan Betourne
2B Lamont Jordan
SS Josh Blackstock
3B Bo Cogbill (unable to attend due to prior commitment.)
DH Lale Esquivel
UT Karl Krailo
P Brent Berger
P Zach Duncan
P Jason Aguirre
P Eric Diaz (unable to attend due to injury)

Outfielder Estevan Quintana is replacing Bo Cogbill & closer George Castillo is replacing Eric Diaz on the All-Star roster.

There will be All-Star festivities Monday night including a HR Derby & a celebrity softball game.

From an archived page of the old Texas Heat website (click here), we found the complete 2007 CBL All-Star Game rosters:

“NORTH” Team      # Player        Position     Hometown
Lewisville Lizards 4 Jace Dennis IF McKinney, TX
Lewisville Lizards 9 Josh Jennings OF Orangeburg, SC
Lewisville Lizards 16 Mario Spann OF Baton Rouge, LA
Lewisville Lizards 17 Cory Press  RHP Highland Village, TX
Lewisville Lizards 19 Aaron Wright OF McGehee, AR
Lewisville Lizards 22 Kieran Mattison RHP Anderson, SC
Lewisville Lizards 23 Ryan Allen C Mesquite, TX
Lewisville Lizards 24 Jesse Longoria 1B/DH Lewisville, TX
Lewisville Lizards 27 Randy Strann RHP Garland, TX
Lewisville Lizards 28 Phil Monte LHP Woodbridge, CA
Lewisville Lizards 32 Ben Parker RHP Austin, TX
Tarrant County 1 Josh Blackstock SS Covington, GA
Tarrant County 8 Jason Aguirre LHP Austin, TX
Tarrant County 9 Lamont Jordan 2B Sutherland, VA
Tarrant County 11 Alan Betourne 1B Spring Bay, IL
Tarrant County 16 Joseph Pagan C Bridgeport, CT
Tarrant County 17 Zach Duncan RHP Fort Worth, TX
Tarrant County 21 George Castillo RHP Mansfield, TX
Tarrant County 28 Karl Krailo C Houston, TX
Tarrant County 30 Estevan Quintana OF San Antonio, TX
Tarrant County 31 Brent Burger RHP Paso Robles, CA
Tarrant County 34 Lale Esquivel DH Southlake, TX

“SOUTH” Team # Player Position Hometown
Bay Area Toros 3 Josh Odell    IF  Stafford, TX
Bay Area Toros 7 Marcus Chandler OF    Houston, TX
Bay Area Toros 14 Mike Medrano  IF Houston, TX
Bay Area Toros 16 Cassidy Dresch  IF San Antonio, TX
Bay Area Toros 17 Jason Bleeker   LHP Joshua, TX
Bay Area Toros 20 Brandon Sisk    LHP Elk Grove, CA
Bay Area Toros 24 Daniel Cox    IF  Channelview, TX
Bay Area Toros 29 Keegan Laycock  RHP Peru, IN
Bay Area Toros 34 Will Smeltzer   RHP Green Cove Springs, FL
Bay Area Toros 37 Michael Colvin  C Dickinson, TX
Texas Heat 1 Mitchell Elliott CF Euless, TX
Texas Heat 2 John Matusik LF McKinney, TX
Texas Heat 8 Nick Enciso C Stevenson Ranch, CA
Texas Heat 9 Brody Russo RHP Red Oak, TX
Texas Heat 10 Justin Meagher 3B Latham, NY
Texas Heat 11 Ross Elmore 2B Athens, TX
Texas Heat 18 Beau Cumbie LHP Wichita, KS
Texas Heat 22 Trevor Klassen RHP Saskatoon, SK
Texas Heat 24 Donald Furrow LHP Converse, TX
Texas Heat 28 Adam Beseda RHP Penelope, TX
Texas Heat 30 Ryan Leger RHP Vinton, LA
Texas Heat 34 Robby Winn 1B/DH Keller, TX


Here are some photos and videos from those two nights.

Noah Scott, winner of 2007 CBL home run derby

The above 3 photos (Will Smeltzer, CBL 2007 South Team for All-Star Game, and Karl Krailo earning the 2007 CBL All-Star MVP award came from an archive.org snapshot of the 2007 version of the BayAreaToros.com website.  No photo credits were given, so if the photographer(s) wish to get credit then simply contact this website and we will give credit for his/her photo(s).  Thank you).

2007 Continental Baseball League Managers (Jim Bolt – Bay Area Toros, Royce Holder – Texas Heat, Curtis Wilkerson – Tarrant County Blue Thunder, Tom Goodwin – Lewisville Lizards).  Game was played the second night of a two-night event in League City, Texas
Bats used in old-time baseball game played before the 2007 CBL Home Run Derby in League City, TX
Ron Baron and Bob Ibach 2007 CBL Home Run Derby (League City TX)
Mike Pede (Bay Area Toros) announcing the old time baseball game played before the 2007 CBL Home Run Derby (night one of the two-night event in League City, Texas)

ron baron and bob ibach 2007 continental baseball league all-star game league city texas

Thanks to Nick Enciso (Texas Heat 2007 team) for these photos from the 2007 CBL All-Star Game:


Here is Karl Krailo accepting the game’s MVP award:

Phil Monte signing autographs after the game: