Blog Post About First Tarrant County Blue Thunder Win

We found a blog post recapping the first actual game in Tarrant County Blue Thunder history, a win over the Bay Area Toros by a final score of 2-1. That link was added to the Tarrant County page here:

Tarrant County Blue Thunder

The first series in Blue Thunder history was a series against the Lewisville Lizards in May 2007, but all of the games were rained out.  The players did take the field briefly for pre-game ceremonies at Cross Timbers Park, but the game itself was called on account of rain.

2010 CBL Schedule Mention Before Final Changes

In February 2010 the CBL announced its intended 4-team schedule, which was to include two teams operated by the New York State League — a developmental, pay-to-play league which would promote its players from a developmental league to the CBL.  That arrangement fell apart which led to the return of 2009’s Coastal Kingfish to replace the named “West Texas Roadhogs”.  The Desert Valley Mountain Lions were kept in the schedule as a travel team, and operated by the league.

Both Ron Baron and Bob Ibach were quoted in the release, and the release mentions previous league championship teams such as the Tarrant County Blue Thunder, Bay Area Toros, and Alexandria Aces.  Aspirations of expanding the CBL to Arizona and Colorado for what would have been a 2011 season also were mentioned.

Here is a link to that release:

2014 Mention Of CBL On

In 2014, the Pecos League had a mini-series documentary on Fox Sports 1, so did a recap of the Pecos League.  In the article below you will see a mention of the CBL and the two teams which started the Pecos League (Big Bend Cowboys – now Alpine Cowboys, and the Las Cruces Vaqueros):


Clips of the 2014 Pecos League documentary are on YouTube when you search for the Pecos League.