The CBL’s Attempt To Become More Continental

The Continental Baseball League operated teams in Texas, the Texas/Arkansas border (Texarkana), Louisiana and New Mexico during its four year run from 2007 to 2010. However, here is an article from the Baltimore Sun which discusses the league’s vision to expand into the Mid-Atlantic after the first (2007) season for the 2008 or 2009 season:


Regions being considered (as mentioned in the article) were: Maryland, Pennsylvania, Northern Virginia and West Virginia. Quotes from Ron Baron and those in the Mid-Atlantic area are included in the article.


The Continental Baseball League was an independent professional minor league baseball circuit in the Southwestern United States. It operated from 2007 through 2010.