Initial Proposed Pecos League Teams After Last CBL Game

The Pecos League started from the remnants of the CBL after the CBL ceased operations following the 2010 championship series. A local writer in Big Bend (Alpine, Texas) wrote this recap of the 2010 championship game + the possible teams which were considered for the 2011 Pecos League including the Big Bend Cowboys and Las Cruces Vaqueros: https://bigbendarc.com/archive/NEWSLETTERS/2010/2010_07/2010-07_Bark_page_2.pdf

The wording was:

At the conclusion of this Championship Series the Continental Baseball League folded, BUT out of the ashes of the now defunct Continental League will rise the Pecos League of Professional Baseball Clubs (based in Houston, Texas) and could have 8 teams in Texas, Colorado, New Mexico and Arizona. The league will observe the National League rules (no designated hitter). Possible new teams could be Abilene Blue Sox, Bisbee Copper Kings, Roswell Invaders, Pueblo Wranglers, Del Rio Gunslingers as well as the Las Cruces Vaqueros, Desert Mountain Lions (based in El Paso) and Coastal Kingfish (also based in El Paso) AND OF COURSE OUR OWN ALPINE COWBOYS (the Big Bend Cowboys team died with the old league).

In 2011 the Pecos League started with these teams:

Alpine Cowboys, Carlsbad Bats, Las Cruces Vaqueros, Roswell Invaders, Ruidoso Osos, and the White Sands Pupfish:



The Continental Baseball League was an independent professional minor league baseball circuit in the Southwestern United States. It operated from 2007 through 2010.